CELEBRATE SPECIAL EVENTS AND WEDDINGS IN THE NAPA VALLEY
What a beautiful location. What a wonderful event! You have the opportunity to invite your family, friends or business associates to your wedding or special event in the Napa Valley. You and your guests can enjoy the surroundings of your choice, and you wonít be limited to the usual halls and restaurants. The beautiful resorts, vineyards, gardens and grounds, and wineries of the Napa Valley can serve as a background for your special occasion.
Over the years, Napa Valley has gained a worldwide reputation for producing some of the finest wines in the world. Now, along with itsí fine wines, it has become a premier pleasure and business travel destination, offering world-class cuisine, championship golf, romance and more! As Napa Valleyís reputation has grown, so have the event professionals who can help put it all together for you. Event planners and wedding consultants, along with local party and tent rental companies, can help make your vision of the perfect event a reality. Whether itís an elegant look with damask linens, silver and crystal, a more casual look, or a business meeting with audio-visual equipment, everything you need is in the Napa Valley. You can even enjoy an outdoor setting and still have a roof over your head by renting a tent. You have the freedom to have your event where, when and how you want it in the Napa Valley.
Getting a License
To be married in California you must obtain a marriage license prior to the marriage ceremony. If either party is under the age of eighteen, a license cannot be issued without the consent of a parent and a court order. To obtain a regular license the bride and groom (both over 18 years of age) must appear in person and provide information including parentís full names and places of birth.
Napa County Clerk/Recorderís Office
900 Coombs St., Ste 116
Hours 8-4 Monday through Friday
Bride and Groom both need to appear. The following information is required:
- Name of parents Ė motherís maiden name
- Place of Birth
- If there was a prior marriage, the way in which and date the last marriage ended is required.
FEE: $82.00. If you wish to have a certified copy of the license there is an additional cost of $14.00.
A regular license can be obtained from any of Californiaís 58 county clerks and, once issued is good for 90 days. The ceremony can be performed anywhere in the State of California. The County Clerk/Recorder issues marriage licenses between 8 AM and 4:00 PM Monday through Friday except for holidays.
HOW TO CHOOSE A WEDDING VENDOR
Napa Valley is a very popular wedding destination. Many couples from all over the United States and world come to our valley to host their wedding nuptials. Planning a wedding from outside the area can be an arduous task. You may wish to enlist the help of an Event Planner, or you may wish to find the services yourself. Either way the Napa Chamber of Commerce can help you find businesses to fit your needs.
You may contact the Chamber for our Wedding Package. This package includes information on all of our members that offer services for the Bride-to-be. You may also search our on-line business directory for specific categories, like photographers, caterers, venues, etc.
Here are three very important questions to ask when selecting vendors in Napa County:
- Does the vendor have a business license?
Every business in Napa County must have a business license with the city in which they do business. This is your insurance policy that the vendor, such as caterer has complied with county regulations as required for food handling.
- Does the venue have the required zoning permit?
Every venue that is for hire, or where monies are exchanged, must have a business license and the correct zoning clearance for wedding ceremonies or receptions. There have been too many horror stories about venues that are operating illegally in Napa County. Asking these two simple questions at the beginning of your search can save you from the heartache and stress of re-planning your wedding just days before your date. Donít take the chance of hiring a venue that is not following the County regulations. It may cost you thousands, not to mention legal costs of recovering your deposits.
- Does the vendor have a State of California resale license?
If the vendor is selling some sort of tangible item, like floral, wedding cake, photographic prints, or album, etc. they must have a State of California resale license and charge Sales Tax.
If the vendor can satisfy these requirements then you are on your way to planning a very successful event!
Business Listing of Napa Chamber of Commerce Members that offer Wedding Services: